Coconut Lemon Bites

Hey, it’s been a while! How are you all? Good? Fab, let’s get cracking then.

I was just having a rummage in the kitchen and noticed there was coconut in the house and lemon, and with summer around the corner- those ingredients can get the excitement started!

I had a lovely image in my head of how I thought it would look but it turned into a slight ‘nailed-it’ moment, but as they say ‘don’t judge bakes by their look’- I’m sure Mary Berry and Paul Hollywood would definitely agree with me on that one…… HOWEVER, it tastes pretty good, as it has the tang of the lemon and the summery taste of coconut.

What did I use? (The weighing scale ran out of battery so it’s a bit of a guessing game).

  • For the base:
  • 2 cups plain white flour
  • 1 cup desiccated or thawed coconut
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1 egg (my cracking pun earlier makes sense now, doesn’t it?)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • For the filling:
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1 large lemon
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp cornflour

How did I make it?

  1. I mixed all the ingredients for the base together and spooned the batter in a greased baking tin. It should be 2cm thick in the tin.
  2. This went in the oven at 170 degrees for 20 minutes.
  3. While this was in the oven, I grated the lemon zest and squeezed lemon juice into the same bowl and added the butter, lemon and sugar.
  4. I stirred this and then added the two eggs, continuously stirring and then added the cornflour which was diluted in water.
  5. Once the base turned golden brown I allowed it to cool and then poured the filling on top of it and placed in the oven for a further 20 minutes until it had set.
  6. Allowed to cool, sprinkle any remaining zest over the top, cut and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

