Maple Syrup and Cashew Nut Ice Cream

Are you lactose intolerant and don’t own an ice-cream maker? NO PROBLEM. Read my own recipe below to see how to make your own ice cream! This recipe makes 4 scoops of ice cream.

Cashew nuts are quite creamy, that’s why they make a really smooth base for making ice cream. I soaked 120g of raw cashews in a container of cold water for 5 hours until they absorbed some water and became soft. After this, I drained the water out of the container so only the soft cashews remained. Then, I added 75ml of soya milk, 50ml of maple syrup and the cashews into a blender. I blended the mixture until it was creamy with no bits.

To solidify the ice cream I poured the blended mixture into a stainless steel tin and placed it into the fridge for 30 minutes to chill. Once chilled, I transferred this into the freezer. After 40 minutes of being in the freezer I took it out, stirred it and then put it back in. This step was repeated every 40 minutes, four times. You’ll notice after each 40 minutes the ice cream will become harder without forming ice crystals on it. I did it four times, but you can do it until the ice cream reaches your desired consistency.

This is a really simple recipe, although it does take several hours due to the cashew nuts absorbing water and the freezing process.

I didn’t go very adventurous with flavours as I wanted to try the basic recipe to see if it worked first as I’ve never done anything like this before! If you’d like to add other flavours, just put them in the blender along with the other ingredients and that should do the job!

The photo above is a serving suggestion, it’s the ice cream with a cashew nut and maple syrup drizzled over it.

Good luck!

-Aishwarya 🙂

Leave a Reply

