Oreo Rocky Road

It was my younger brother’s birthday and so I thought I’d bake him something! The only problem being that I can’t bake AT ALL. Everytime I’d try to bake a cake, it would turn out like a frisbee…tasted great but was rather disc-like. So, I decided to make him oreo rocky road because hey it doesn’t involve baking powder or an oven! I used one of Nigella’s recipes but tailored it to my own liking. The link for Nigella’s recipe is at the end of this post.

As you can see in the photos above, the Oreo rocky road bars turned out quite well!

How did I make these?

I used 300g of Tesco brand cooking chocolate, 120g of butter, 4 tablespoons of golden syrup, 200g rich tea biscuits, 200g marshmallows, 6 Oreo cookies and the willpower to not eat the mixture before freezing it.

Firstly, I broke the chocolate into small chunks and melted them over a double broiler. When the chocolate had melted, I separated half a cup of the chocolate and poured it into a small bowl to save for decoration at the end. Once it was all melted, butter was added into the big bowl of chocolate and stirred. Next, I put the biscuits in a sandwich bag, sealed it, and hit the bag with a rolling pin ,(great for anger management), until the biscuits were a mixture of crumbs and small pieces. I then added these to the chocolate and butter bowl and stirred until the biscuit pieces are covered. The same step was repeated with the Oreos. Next, 4 tablespoons of golden syrup were added and stirred until everything was well mixed.

Lastly, I cut 100g of marshmallows into small chunks and added them to the mixture, stirring constantly.

Then, I poured the mixture into a casserole dish. The remaining 100g of marshmallows were cut into quarter pieces and I arranged them on top of the mixture. Finally, using a tablespoon I took the melted chocolate from the separated small bowl and made a pattern on top of the marshmallows.

After all this, I finally placed it into the freezer overnight! The next morning I cut the rocky road slab into pieces and served.

I was happy with the outcome of my Oreo rocky road bars, but I only got to eat a couple as my brother and his friends devoured the rest.

The link to Nigella’s recipe- http://www.nigella.com/recipes/view/rocky-road-crunch-bars-25

Leave a Reply

